Bangkok Mass Transit System ( BTS)


Inaugurated on 5th December 1999, the BTS SkyTrain was the first electric mass transit railway system to commence operations in Thailand. Built and operated by the Bangkok Mass Transit System Public Company Limited (BTSC), the project was entirely funded by private enterprise. The BTS SkyTrain operates on two lines: The Sukhumvit Line, royally bestowed with the title ‘Elevated Train in Commemoration of His Majesty the King’s 6th Cycle Birthday, Route 1 (Sukhumvit Line), running 17 kilometers and on 12th August 2011, a 5.25 kilometer extension of the Sukhumvit Line commenced operations, expand in train services from On Nut to Bearing Station.

The Elevated Train in Commemoration of His Majesty the King’s 6th Cycle Birthday, Route 2 (Silom Line) running 6.5 kilometers was officially inaugurated on 5th December 1999. Subsequently on 23rd August 2009, a 2.2 kilometer extension of the Silom Line commenced operations, expanding train services from Saphan Taksin to Wongwian Yai station on Thonburi side of the Chaophraya River. On 14th February 2013, a further 2.17 kilometer extension of the Silom Line commenced operations to Pho Nimit and Talat Phlu stations. Finally, on 5th December 2013, a further 3.8 kilometer extension of the Silom Line commenced operations to Wutthakat and Bang Wa stations. Currently BTS SkyTrain lines run a total combined length of 36.9 kilometers, connecting 34 stations.

The BTS SkyTrain system is a standard mass transit system commonly used in cosmopolitan cities. The SkyTrain runs on an elevated track, using a third-rail system to supply electricity, with in-bound and out-bound trains running on separate tracks and platforms. The BTS SkyTrain changes the face of the urban commute and raises the standard of mass transit services with each train serving up to 1,000 passengers per journey compared to the 800 vehicles on the roads transporting the same number of commuters.

In addition to serving businesses, shopping districts and residential areas in the heart of Bangkok, an extension project is also in the plan in order to reach the broader community of potential passengers in suburban Bangkok.


The BTS SkyTrain system operates in 2 lines with a total of 34 stations.

The Sukhumvit Line
begins at Bearing Station and ends at Mo Chit Station, starting from Sukhumvit 85 traveling via Sukhumvit Road to Ploenchit Road, Rama I Road, Phyathai Road, Victory Monument, Paholyothin Road, Sanam Pao, Saphan Khwai and Chatuchak Park. This line is approximately 22.25 kilometers long and offers 22 service stations, including one interchange station (Siam).

The Silom Line
begins at Bang Wa Station and ends at National Stadium Station. The line starts from Ratchaphruek at the intersection with Phetchakasem Road, then passes along Ratchaphruek Road to the intersection with Wutthakat Road. The line then passes the Ratchada-Talat Phlu intersection to Tak Sin intersection, and then crosses the Chao Phraya River via Saphan Taksin to Sathorn Road. Curving left above Chong Nonsi, the line proceeds along Silom Road, passing Lumpini Park and on to Rajdamri Road. The line then curves left onto Rama I Road and interchanges with the Sukhumvit Line at Siam, before terminating at National Stadium Station. The Silom line is approximately 14.2 kilometers and serves 13 stations, including one interchange station (Siam).

The stations and track are built on a 9 meter wide viaduct, 12 meters above the road median. The structure comprises segmented concrete casts and was assembled span-by-span using dry joint and external post-tensioning within the gap of each segment. This method requires minimal construction time, ideal for the congested traffic environment of the downtown core. The viaduct support structure is made of cast concrete, 2 meters wide and 30 – 35 meters in length. For the Silom Line extension from Tak Sin Bridge to Bang Wa ( Ratchaphruek-Phetchakasem), the cast-in–situ method is also used.

from  :

Hotel near  By  BTS

BTS Nana  

BTS Thonglor  





Comments are closed.